There are some signs in this photo that should tell me something about how I treated the film. 

And, I don’t mean that the Yamaha sign is one of the signs. 

This is Kodak Tri-X 400 film. I developed the film myself using a dilution at 1-50 of Adonal. 

I used an old Paterson developing tank. The Master model made of Bakelite thermosetting plastic. 

I noticed that the funnel in the lid was slow to accept the liquid without getting spillover. As watched the timer, I notice it took me nearly 1:30 to fill the tank with 290cc. Why does this matter?

Look at the sky in the photo. Notice the broad dark and light vertical lines. These are caused by the surging of developer as I filled the tank. As a fresh surge of developer moved against the film, the better the image was developed on the film. 

I could use a bigger funnel on top of the tank funnel, which could be used to force the developer into the tank. Or, I could use my other tank that actually has this feature on the lid, a Paterso System 4. 

As you look at the photo again, you can see some over exposure on the right edge. 

This roll of film sat on my desk a couple of months before it was developed. Some light leaked around the edges of the paper on the roll. 

I need to start using a light tight container to store film. Or, wrap the roll in aluminum foil. 

