Performed by the post punk group Magazine. One of my most favorite songs. I have always empathisized with the feeling represented by the lyrics of this song. Here are the lyrics.
I’m sick of working on the land

I want to work with machines and look handsome
I have been indulging

In ostentatious display

Doing little more than eat

Three square meals a day
And I’ve been shirking my duty

So I’ve been sending gifts to curry favour
But because I love you

And because you love me

A model worker

I’ll willingly be
I need a holiday, I’ve not been well

Take me to the Brocade River Hotel
And I just want to know

While the revolution lasts

Will it enable me

To swallow broken glass!
I’m not too worried by hegemony

I know the cadre will look after me
And I just want to know while the revolution lasts

Will it enable me to swallow broken glass!
I have been indulging in ostentatious display

Doing little more than eat three square meals a day
But because I love you…
Songwriters: Barry Adamson / David Tomlinson / Howard Devoto / John Mc Geogh / John E Doyle
I first heard this song on the album “Correct Use of Soap”. Later I picked up a copy of “Play” that had a live version of this song. Over the years, I burned through at least four vinyl copies of “Play” and two copies of “Correct Use of Soap”. Then I was able to get the albums on CD.

Because I have always found this song so moving, I am going to attempt to set images to match my feeling from the lyrics, as a photography project.

