Shooting with legacy lenses : Helios

I keep experimenting. It’s in my nature. I get to feel the pain of learning.

I read that these Helios lenses made in the USSR can produce some appealing bokeh. So, I search the auction sites and bought one from Ukraine.

A model Ге́лиос-44-2, 58mm, f/1:2. Clean, well working with very little wear. I purchased separately a mounting ring to convert the M42 threaded mount to a Nikon F so I could run the lens on my Nikon D5200.

_dsc0015-f
standing and waiting for the photographer

A nice lens. Here, I’ve captured Mia waiting for me outside of the central train station in Stockholm.

_dsc0018-f
looking down Klara Norra Kyrkogata

Yet, there are some limitations. Focus at infinity doesn’t quite reach; there is a slight haze in the image.

_dsc0150
Enter a caption

Again, when I’m underground, producing a haze around the lights and reflections in the surfaces.

_dsc0150-f
Downtown Södertälje in Sweden

Again, when I’m out on the town. Or is it some other effect?

_dsc0075-f
poster wall

Sometimes, the effect is good. A kind of, dreamy softness is given to the image. Like this shot of the poster wall in Kungsträdgården subway station.

_dsc0025-f
Cerver_

However, when I pull the focus away from infinity, I can catch some nice shots.

_dsc0026-f
Window Shopping Downtown Stockholm in Sweden
_dsc0021-f
ÅHLÈNS

Downtown Stockholm, Sweden.

_dsc0096-f
toalett

A pedestrian passing in front of the toalet in Stockholm’s T-Centralen.

_dsc0023-f
ha, it’s my fruit stand

A vendor on Hay Market giving me an evil gesture.

_dsc0135-f
ASH

Grafitto on a brick wal in Södertälje.

_dsc0111-f
underhålls ej vintertid

But, this is the effect that I am looking for from this lens; bokeh. That soft, bent, ringed effect on the lights. Yet, in this image on ly on the lights well behind the subject.

